Claudia Schiepers


Jan Bosschaert
August 18, 2008, 4:16 pm
Filed under: New York

Ilah_cordelia
The Illustration House, a gallery in Chelsea, New York had a wonderful exhibition and sale going on for the past 5 weeks. It is titled: Sequential Art: The Universal Language. Five Belgian artists have their work on display until tomorrow and everything is for sale. The artists are: Jan Bosschaert, Ilah, Nix, Olivier Schrauwen and Judith Van Istendael, all comic book artists.

I have always been a fan of Ilah. I think her Cordelia comic is just sheer genius and I've had similar emotions many many times 🙂

I wasn't in the city for the opening of the exposition with all the artists present, but I found some picture online on the fansite of Jan Bosschaert.

When I was younger, I liked reading Sam, the comic about the girl with the mechanical skills. I was probably already to old to be the real target group, but nevertheless, I liked it very much. Jan Bosschaert has so many skills. His comic books are funny, inventive and interesting, his pin-ups for Che Magazine are gorgeous and his paintings are just wonderful. When browsing through the catalogue of the work on display in New York I fell in love with two of his paintings. So I decided to buy one (the other one was a bit above my budget). So I went to the gallery this weekend and my first art-buy in New York is reality. This is what I bought:

Bel_095 

What do you think?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

